About the Competition



The Great Plains International Marimba Competition seeks to provide an avenue for musical growth of young marimbists around the world through educational and competitive experiences. This competition seeks to help educate student musicians and to contribute to the quality and evolution of marimba performance.  Competitors will prepare solo marimba repertoire from a prescribed list and compete in a taped round for a chance to compete in the live rounds. The live rounds will be hosted at the Wanda L. Bass School of Music at Oklahoma City University.

Executive Director
Dane Romano

We are please to announce the 2017 competition details including dates, judging panel, Composition Contest details, and the addition of an Open Duo Division! Please check individual tabs for more information!


 The GPIMC would like to congratulate Joseph Craven on his winning composition “Imagined Dances”
This piece will serve as the 2017 Compulsory Piece for the Collegiate/Open Solo Division Final Round!

Please visit the Composition Contest tab for access to the mp3 of ‘Imagined Dances’

 5th Annual GPIMC 2017 Competition Dates

Audio Round Dates: December 1st, 2016-April 1st, 2017

Semi-Final/Final Rounds of Competition: July 16th, 17th, 18th, 19th, 2017

Our 2017 competition will be hosted at Oklahoma City University!

2017 Audio Round Judge

Ji Hye JungVanderbilt University

2017 Live Round Judges

Tom Burritt – The University of Texas at Austin

Andrea Venet – University of North Florida

Dr. David Steffens – Oklahoma City University


Official Sponsors 



Putnam City North Band Boosters

Steve Craft and the Bartlesville H.S. Percussion Program

EMI Logo (1)

YAMAHA logomark 2010 WHITE

Malletech Logo


zildjian logo

logo 2






Leave a Reply